21 Dec, 2013

Radio 1190 “The Best of TwentyThirteen”

The Radio 1190 staff know what’s what in music. Here are a few of the DJs Picks for this year.


Sam Goldner – Music Director

Alright alright, alphabetically, here’s the Official Sam Goldner Best of the Best No Way Around It Undeniable Classics Of The Millenium 2013.0:

Bill Callahan – “Dream River”
Destruction Unit – “Deep Trip”
Dirty Beaches – “Drifters/Love Is The Devil”
Kurt Vile – “Wakin On A Pretty Daze”
Oneohtrix Point Never – “R Plus Seven”
Speedy Ortiz – “Major Arcana”
Tim Hecker – “Virgins”
Various Artists – “I Am The Center: Private Issue New Age Music in America 1950-1990″
William Onyeabor – “Who Is William Onyeabor?”
William Tyler – “Impossible Truth”

And the Top 20 Jams de Sam:

Bill Baird – “Spring Break of the Soul”
Bill Callahan – “Small Plane”
Boards of Canada – “Jacquard Causeway”
Califone – “We Are A Payphone”
Daft Punk – “Give Life Back To Music”
Death Grips – “You might think he loves you for your money but I know what he really loves you for it’s your brand new leopard skin pillbox hat”
Dirty Beaches – “Alone At the Danube River”
Disclosure – “When A Fire Starts to Burn”
DJ Rashad – “Pass That Shit”
Gold Panda – “We Work Nights”
Julian Lynch – “Carios Kelleyi I”
Kurt Vile – “KV Crimes”
My Bloody Valentine – “Who Sees You”
Purling Hiss – “Mercury Retrograde”
Speedy Ortiz – “Pioneer Spine”
Thee Oh Sees – “Toe Cutter – Thumb Buster”
Thundercat – “Tron Song”
Tim Hecker – “Black Refraction”
William Onyeabor – “Atomic Bomb”
William Tyler – “Cadillac Desert”


James Calvet – The Morning Show DJ

1) Phosphorescent – “Muchacho”
2) deafheaven – “Sunbather”
3) Kanye West – “Yeezus” (deal with it, bitches)
4) The Wonder Years – “The Greatest Generation”
5) Bill Callahan – “Dream River”
6) Iceage – “You’re Nothing”
7) My Bloody Valentine – “m b v”
 Ghostface Killah – “Twelve Reasons to Die”
9) Daft Punk – “Random Access Memories”
10) DARKSIDE – “Psychic”

Honorable Mention: Colin Stetson – “New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light”

1) Deafheaven – “Dream House”
2) The Wonder Years – “There, There”
3) Phosphorescent – “Terror in the Canyons”
4) Death Grips – “You might think he loves you for your money but I know what he really loves you for it’s your brand new leopard skin pillbox hat
5) The Front Bottoms – “Twin Size Mattress”
6) The National – “Sea of Love”
7) Bill Callahan – ” Small Plane”
 Iceage – “Ecstasy”
9) Disclosure – “Latch”
10) DARKSIDE – “Paper Trails”


Alexis Aaeng – DJ and Bird Advocate


Majical Cloudz – “Impersonator”
Ty Segall – “Sleeper”
FuzZ- S/T
Speedy Ortiz – “Major Arcana”
Parquet Courts – “Light Up Gold”
King Krule – “6th Feet Beneath The Moon”
Disclosure – “Settle”
Jon Hopkins- “Immunity”
James Blake – “Retrograde”
Honorable Mention: Mount Kimbie – “Cold Spring Fault Less Youth”


Majical Cloudz – “I Do Sing For You”
James Blake feat. Chance the Rapper – “Life Round Here”
St. Vincent – “Birth In Reverse”
Daft Punk feat. Panda Bear – “Doin’ It Right”
Disclosure feat. London Grammar – “Help Me Lose My Mind”
FIDLAR – “Blackout Stout”
FuzZ – “What’s In My Head”
Jagwar Ma – “What Love”
Jon Hopkins – “Collider”
Kanye West – “Blood on the Leaves”
King Krule – “Ocean Bed”
Mount Kimbie – “Blood And Form”
Parquet Courts – “Master Of My Craft”
Speedy Ortiz – “No Below”
Thee Oh Sees – “Toe Cutter – Thumb Buster”
Ty Segall – “Sleeper”
The Traditional Fools – “Davey Crockett”
WAMPIRE – “Magic Light”
Chelsea Wolfe – “House of Metal”
Youth Lagoon – “Daisyphobia”



Stay tuned over the holiday period for a RADIO 1190 PUNKMAS!

Leave a reply